Loading page...

Romanian Business News - ACTMedia :: Services|About us|Contact|RSS RSS


European Parliament Approves Resolution Requesting Schengen Accession For Romania And Bulgaria


The European Parliament approved on Tuesday, with a large majority, a resolution which requests the immediate accession of Romania and Bulgarian to the Schengen Area.

The resolution was based on a report conducted by Bulgarian MEP Sergei Stanishev, who is also the leader of the Party of European Socialists.

“The countries have already met accession conditions. The Commission said this, experts said this (…) The Council (EU Council, ed.) simply does not know what to say anymore. In the past five years, the Council violated European rules through its failure to pass a decision regarding the admission of Romania and Bulgaria to the Schengen Area,” the European official said during a debate on Monday evening.
The report also adds that an eventual partial inclusion of the countries into the Schengen Area would “lack a legal justification” and could have negative social and economic effects for Romania and Bulgaria.

Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte, whose country opposes the extension of the Schengen Area to include Romania and Bulgaria, said in September that his country's stance on the matter concerns issues with corruption and the rule of law in the two countries.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MAE) salutes the adoption by the European Parliament's plenary session of a resolution requesting Romania and Bulgaria's immediate accession to the Schengen space, pointing the fact that this reconfirms that our country is fully prepared for accession.

According to the quoted source, through this resolution, the European Parliament "urges the Council to present as quickly as possible a new draft decision regarding the full application of the provisions of the Schengen acquis in Romania and Bulgaria and make an immediate decision for eliminating internal border controls."

The resolution was endorsed with 514 votes in favor, 107 against and 38 abstentions.